Skip to main content

Scholarship Advisory Council

Community Leaders Supporting the Ribbon Society & Its Objectives

The Scholarship Advisory Council (SAC) is a sub-council of the Police and Peace Officers’ Memorial Ribbon Society (the Society) with a Society director as the ‘Society SAC Manager’. It is not an independent foundation and therefore must adhere to the Society by-laws and Constitution.

  • the SAC has a ‘Chair’ appointed by the Society for a two year term
  • the SAC Chair reports directly to the ‘Society SAC Manager’
  • the SAC is a working group of like minded ‘leaders within the community’ who support the Ribbon Society and its objectives
  • the SAC are volunteers who are appointed for a two year term
  • the SAC Chair may put any SAC candidates to the Society for approval
    any SAC candidates must be approved by the Society before becoming SAC members

Chair: C. Scott M. Shepherd

C. Scott M. Shepherd, B.A.(Hons.), MBA, CITP has been extensively involved in exports throughout his business career. He has worked with the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, Export Development Corporation, Imperial Chemical Industries PLC and Trafalgar House PLC, as well as a stint as Chief Financial Officer with the Nexus group of Companies in Burnaby, B.C. Currently he is President and founding director of NORTHSTAR Trade Finance Inc. which promotes and supports small and medium sized exporters in Canada.

Scott currently serves on a number of Canadian Boards. He is the Chair, BC Provincial Committee, Canadian Armed Forces Liaison Council; Governor, Dalhousie University; Honorary Consul of Uruguay for British Columbia and Alberta; National Arts Centre Foundation BC Strategy Council Member; Director and Chair of Audit Committee, Ridley Terminals, a Federal Crown Corporation appointed May 2008; Honorary President for British Columbia and Yukon St. John Ambulance Brigade. Furthermore he has served on numerous other boards.

Scott is married to Carolyn, a pharmacist and they have two children, Carter graduating from St. Andrew’s University in Scotland this year, and Julia who has just completed her second year at UBC.

Director: Miller H. Ayre, M.BA, LLD

Miller H. Ayre, M.BA, LLD is Publisher Emeritus of The Telegram in St. John’s, President of Mansbord Incorporated and a Director of Other Ocean Interactive Inc. He was appointed National Vice Chair of the Canadian Forces Liaison Council in 2007, and is a Director of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment’s Advisory Council, The Canadian Deafness Research and Training Institute, and The Quebec-Labrador Foundation.

He is former Chair of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce, the Retail Council of Canada, the Newfoundland Medicare Commission, the Advisory Board of Memorial University’s School of Business and Vice Chairman of the National Theatre School of Canada. He was a National Director of the Canadian Cancer Society, the Economic Council of Canada and Provincial Chairman of the Task Force on Canadian Unity. He has served as a Director of a number of TSX listed public companies including Aliant and ResourceCan Limited.

Miller holds an Honours degree in Economics from Harvard University and an M.B.A. from McGill. He is a member of the Order of Canada and recipient of an Honorary Doctor of Laws from Memorial University.

Director: John Craig Eaton, KSTJ, O. Ont, D.COM

As a well recognized philanthropist, John Craig Eaton is best known for his personal commitment and contribution of time and resources to any organization in which he is involved. Where others may lend their name, Mr. Eaton also gives extensively of his time and energy.

In 1986 Mr. Eaton was appointed Ontario Co-Chairman of the National Employer Support Committee. In 1989 he assumed the position of National Chair of the Canadian Forces Liaison Council (CFLC) and as Chair of the Advisory Board continues to direct its growth and development as it has come to be recognized globally as an outstanding model for employer support for the Reserves. Mr. Eaton has managed to attract many of Canada’s most prominent citizens to also donate their time and energy towards volunteering with CFLC and the support of the Reserves.

Mr. Eaton’s work with Canada’s Reserve Force, as Honorary Colonel of 400 Squadron (City of Toronto) and Negaune (Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel) 3rd Canadian Ranger Patrol Group, has helped him to understand the vital role Reservists play in Canada’s military and the breadth of skills they bring to civilian employers.

In recognition of his volunteer service to the Canadian Forces, Mr. Eaton received the Canadian Forces Medallion for Distinguished Service and the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Award.

Mr. Eaton is noted for his extensive and active involvement. He holds a range of other directorships including Board of Trustees, Timothy Eaton Memorial Church; Founding Honorary Chair, Hearing Foundation of Canada; Member of the Institute of Child Study’s Advisory Board; Honorary Trustee, Upper Canada College Foundation; Honorary Director, Ducks Unlimited Canada; and Trustee of The John C. and Sally Horsfall Eaton Foundation.

Other community involvement has included Chancellor of Ryerson University from 1999 to 2006 -at the end of his term he was awarded the title Chancellor Emeritus; Chair, Ontario Parks Board of Governors; Founding Chair, Ontario Trillium Foundation; Chair and President, Ducks Unlimited Canada; Director, The Toronto Blue Jays Baseball Club; Honorary Director, Air Cadet League of Canada; Governor, Canadian Olympic Foundation; President, Royal Agricultural Winter Fair; Chair, Upper Canada College; Chair, The Salvation Army Metro Toronto Advisory Council; Governor, York University; National Chair, The Charlie Conacher Cancer Research Fund; Honorary Chair, The Hugh MacMillan Rehabilitation Centre; and President, National Youth Orchestra.

Mr. Eaton has been the recipient of many awards including the Order of Ontario; Knight of Justice of the Most Venerable Order of the Hospital of St. John of Jerusalem; 2006 Outstanding Volunteer Award; and Doctor of Commerce, honoris causa, Ryerson University (D.Com.)

Mr. Eaton is Chairman of the Board, Eaton’s of Canada Inc. and Chairman, Sky Blue Marlin Corp. Mr. Eaton was educated at Upper Canada College and Harvard University.